Jennifer and Mallory talk all about Welsh Names – given names, surnames, and place names! Our special guest is Dr. Sara Louise Wheeler, Welsh Names academic, author, and poet! We also discuss the current celebrity baby news and take questions from our listeners.

Names mentioned in this episode: Justice, Blue, Sara, Rhiannon, Harri, Seren, Ffan, Jac, Macsen, Caerwyn, Dilys, Gwenhwyfar, Bran, Ebrill, Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch, and more!

Join us for our FACEBOOK LIVE each Wednesday after our episode drops. 1pm Pacific / 3pm Central / 4pm Eastern

We want to hear your NAME STORIES! Either call our message line at (702) 848-5510 and record your story, or record it on your device and email us at podcast@babynames.com.

Check out Dr. Wheeler’s Onomastic Blog (onomastics is the study of names).

_____________________________________

Sources:
Office for National Statistics, U.K.
Welsh Place Names Society
Welsh Naming – BBC
What are Welsh Names About? – Family Search
Family Search Wiki – Welsh Names
Welsh Pronunciation Guide (PDF) – Family Search

Episode 53: Welsh Names with Dr. Sara Louise Wheeler